Did you know?



The earth is made up from four main layers: the inner core, the outer core, the mantle and the crust.


The crust is not made up of one large piece, but many (like a jigsaw puzzle). These "pieces" are called tectonic plates.


Volcanoes and earthquakes are caused when the tectonic plates move, resulting in a build up of pressure. The release of this pressure is the cause of volcanic eruptions or the ground shaking during an earthquake.


Did you know more than 10,000 people a year die from earthquakes? 


You can become "quake ready" and have "earthquake-proof buildings" by including features like a shear core, shear walls, cross bracing and shock absorbers. 




There are 3 types of rock: igneous rocks, sedimentary rocks and metamorphic rocks.


Igneous rocks are formed from cooled magma or lava.